Name Reveal

Untitled-1

I could not be more excited to reveal our second daughter’s name: Fletcher Hope!! As soon as I mentioned the name to Shawn, he jumped on it. I was shocked, actually, at how quickly he agreed and how much he loved it. I had to convince him with Marlowe Grace (our first daughter), so I was pretty relieved at not having to pressure Shawn into this one. Haha.

Time is drawing closer with every passing day. It won’t be long before we have two precious daughters in our arms. And to be honest, I am really looking forward to going into labor. I had such a good/calm/relaxing experience with Marlowe; I knew I had to go in with no expectations to actually enjoy the experience, and it worked!

For those of you who are expecting their first, or even second child, when the time comes for that child to make their entrance into the world, I highly recommend just listening to the doctors and nurses suggestions and going with the flow. I made the mistake of doing “research” on the internet beforehand, which consisted of chat forums and non-educated peoples’ opinions. So, when I mentioned the different things I’d read not to do while in labor to my OB, she gently corrected my knowledge – while probably shaking her head internally – and told me that most of it was myth. Right then and there, I decided that I would go into the hospital with little to no expectations.

The only thing I had insisted on right away was an epidural. I didn’t last long with those painful contractions, so the epidural (which was administered to me twice – long story) was a most welcome relief. After that, I was super relaxed and I even slept (which really helped me when it came time to push)!!

Anyway, I say all this to encourage you. Labor doesn’t have to be a scary thing, even when things go wrong. The doctors/nurses/midwifes/doulas have been doing this for a long time, and they know what they’re doing! Try to relax and enjoy it – as hard as that may sound! You’re going to want to look back on that time of your life with fond memories.

Leave a Reply

