He Is Risen

01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

I was definitely sad that Shawn wasn’t able to join us this past Easter weekend, but Marlowe and I still had fun! We went to our good friends’ house for brunch, then went to our favorite hangout joint: Starbucks. I had my camera on me all day because, well, Marlowe looked so dang cute! She’s got the best facial expressions of anyone I know. She makes me laugh every day. We are very blessed with such a happy, enthusiastic little girl.

I want to go a little deeper with the subject of this blog post, though. The very first photograph (scroll to the top if you need a reminder) says it all, really. “He Is Risen”. I am so sad when I think about the amount of people who aren’t saved, and by that I mean people who aren’t going to Heaven. The bible makes it pretty clear that just believing in God isn’t enough to save you from an eternity in Hell. It takes more than just believing. I’ll explain.

John 3:16 says,  “For this is how God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.” First, you definitely have to have faith that God sent his son, Jesus, to die on the cross for the price of our sins.

Romans 3:23 says, “For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.” Every single person who ever lived, and who will ever exist, is a sinner (minus Jesus). It really doesn’t matter how many good deeds we do, because we will always fall short of God’s PERFECT standard (All except Jesus Christ, that is).

Romans 6:23 says, “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.” This means that because we are sinners, we deserve to spend eternity in Hell when we die. Hell is a place that someone can never, ever, be saved from once they enter into it. EVER. Once a soul goes to Hell, they will spend all of time there. And I can’t even explain to you what a horribly terrifying place it is.  Once a soul goes to Hell, they are literally tortured and maimed, without rest or respite, for eternity. This place is real, and the Devil and his Demons would have you believe that it doesn’t exist, or that it isn’t all that bad.

Here’s the good news: you can make a decision – RIGHT NOW – to ask God to save you from Hell. Ephesians 2:8 says, “God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God.” Believing in God is so important, but it doesn’t matter unless you accept his gift. After all, the Devil believes in God, but he’s not going to Heaven because he refused to accept that gift.

I want to correct a misunderstanding that many people believe: you will not get into Heaven by being a “good person” (we fall short of God’s standard, remember?). You won’t get into heaven by saying a certain amount of Hail Mary’s and you won’t get into Heaven by helping the poor.

So. How do you get into heaven?

Here’s where all the bible verses I wrote out for you come together. You now understand that you’re a sinner, and that you can only get into Heaven by accepting God’s gift (which was sending his son to die for us), NO MATTER WHAT YOU’VE DONE, or even if you think you’ve never really done anything that bad. Your next step is to pray. If you’re unsure of what to pray about, just read the prayer I’ve written out for you below. If you truly mean every word that you pray, then you are saved, and you will go to Heaven! After all, most of us don’t know when we are going to die. It could be a fatal car accident this afternoon for all we know. Don’t let this opportunity go by without praying:

“Father, I believe that you sent your son, Jesus, to die for my sins on the cross, and I believe that he rose from the dead. I know that I’m a sinner and I’m sorry for all the sins I’ve done. I need your forgiveness. Thank you for dying for me. I know I don’t deserve that, but you did it anyway. This very moment, I accept Jesus Christ as MY OWN personal savior. Amen”

And that’s it. What you (hopefully) just prayed is called the [sinner’s prayer]. The prayer doesn’t have to be prayed in a specific way, but you need to acknowledge what I’ve written above in order to be saved.

**I only ask this of you: If you’ve accepted Christ as your savior (by praying the sinner’s prayer), please share this information with someone you know who hasn’t done that yet. God calls us to be a light, and to spread his word, so that people are saved from an eternity in Hell.**

Leave a Reply

